Friday, July 29, 2011

MUNICH

BARS & NIGHTCLUBS
Augustiner Schwalbe – 149 Schwanthalerstrasse (Schwanthalerhöhe); 011-49-089-2323-9665; augustiner-schwalbe.de; beer garden with leafy courtyard; bring picnic basket.
GOP Variete-Theater – 47 Maximilianstrasse (Lehel); 011-49-089-2102-88444; variete.de; 2 great shows on Fridays and Saturdays; touches upon Weimar Era cabaret and early Vaudeville.
Hey Luigi – 29 Holzstrasse (Isarvorstadt); 011-49-089-4613-4741; heyluigi.de; lowkey, candlelit, cocktails.
Neuraum – 17 Arnulfstrasse (Ludwigsvorstadt-Isarvorstadt); 011-49-089-5998-9640; neuraum.net; gigantic dance club; bomb-shelter-like space under bus station
Vice – 9 Kaufingerstrasse (Altstadt); 011-49-089-2388-55790; vice-muenchen.de; on 3 floors of shopping arcade; classic cocktails on 3rd floor.
Zephyr Bar – 68 Baaderstrasse (Altstadt); 011-49-089-2175-4695; zephyr-bar.de; fine selection German gins.



HOTELS
Bayerischer Hof Hotel – 2-6 Promenadeplatz (Altstadt); 011-49-089-21200; bayerischerhof.de/en; 5-star, luxury, 350-room hotel.
Charles Hotel – 28 Sophienstrasse (Altstadt); 011-49-089-54-45550; thecharleshotel.com; in 8-story, limestone building close to Kunstareal; spa.
Louis Hotel – 6 Viktualienmarkt (Altstadt); 011-49-089-4111-9080; louis-hotel.com; modern and has great location.
Motel One – 79 Landsbergerstrasse (West); 011-49-089-5388-68-90; motel-one.com; part of new, German micro-chain; hipper and smaller; clever and stylish.



RESTAURANTS
Bergwolf – 17 Fraunhoferstrasse (Isarvorstadt); 011-49-089-2325-9858; facebook.com/pages/Bergwolf/157593660926959; favorite night owl pit stop; try Currywurst (sliced spicy sausage provocatively dressed in curried ketchup) & fries.
Les Deux – 3a Maffeistrasse (Altstadt); 011-49-089-7104-07373; lesdeux-muc.de; buzzy new spot; 2nd floor is fine-dining; 1st floor good for quick lunch; French brasserie.
Forschungsbrauerei – 76 Unterhachinger Strasse (Ramersdorf-Perlach); 011-49-089-67-01169; forschungbrauerei.de; former research brewery that functions as brewpub.
Garden – 2-6 Promenadeplatz (Altstadt, at Bayerischer Hof Hotel); 011-49-089-2120993; bayerischerhof.de/en; airy and modern; like cross between Apple store and greenhouse; try oxtail ravioli or black-rice risotto with braised cherry tomatoes and leeks.
Geisels Werneckhof – 11 Werneckstrasse; 011-49-089-3887-9568; geisels-werneckhof.de; classic, comfortable decor, good food & fine wine choices; dishes available à la carte or from good value, 2-course set lunch menu (including water & coffee).
Kunst & Textwerk – 13 Ligsalzstrasse (Schwanthalerhöhe); 011-49-089-4410-9849; kutv.de; bookstore and café.
Kochspielhaus – 5 Rumfordstrasse (Glocknbach); 011-49-089-5480-2738; kochspielhaus.de; studiously shabby-chic; seasonal, produce-centered menu.
Marais – 2 Parkstrasse (Schwanthalerhöhe); 011-49-089-5009-4552; café-marais.de; antique store and café.
Maria Cafe – 97 Klenzestrasse (Isarvorstadt); 011-49-089-2023-2745; dasmaria.de; rustic restaurant; breakfast served until 6:00 p.m.
Spezlwirtschaft – 3 Lederer Strasse (Altstadt); 011-49-089-2323-2973; spezlwirtschaft.me; modern twists on traditional German comfort food.



SHOPPING
Stefanie Duckstein – 7 Parkstrasse (Schwanthalerhöhe); 011-49-089-3610-5392; stefanie-duckstein.de; quirky artist.
Fundgruber – 58 Klenzestrasse (Isarvorstadt); 011-49-089-1301-1069; mux.de/Fundgruber; vintage clothing.
Antonetty Lederwerkstatt – 56 Klenzestrasse (Isarvorstadt); 011-49-089-26-9129; antonetty.de; leather goods that have acquired cult status.
Kind of Guise – 41b Adalbertstrasse (Maxvorstadt); 011-49-089-7269-9797; akindofguise.com; women’s accessories & clothing.
Kunst & Textwerk – 13 Ligsalzstrasse (Schwanthalerhöhe); 011-49-089-4410-9849; kutv.de; bookstore and café.
Marais – 2 Parkstrasse (Schwanthalerhöhe); 011-49-089-5009-4552; café-marais.de; antique store and café.
No. 10 – 10 Schraudolphstrasse (Maxvorstadt); 011-49-089-1892-0939; atelier-shop where jewelry and pottery created.
Beatrice Pedersen – 131 Schwanthalerstrasse (Westend); 011-49-089-5403-6881; beatrice-pedersen.com; Swedish-born ceramicist.
Svenja Jander – 25 Jahnstrasse (Ludwigsvorstadt-Isarvorstadt); 011-49-089-1301-2649; svenjajander.com; clothing.
Viktualienmarkt – 6 Viktualienmarkt (Altstadt); 011-49-089-2332-3473; viktualienmarkt-muenchen.de; Europe’s most delightful outdoor market; adjacent Schrannenhalle (indoor specialty food market) is excellent.



SIGHTS & SITES
Deutsches Museum – 1 Museumsinsel; 011-49-089-21-791; deutsches-museum.de; among world’s largest science and technology museums; Zentrum Neue Technologien, devoted to pioneering nano- and bio-technology.
Englischer Garten – Schwabing (East); 011-49-089-386-666-390; schloesser.bayern.de/englisch/garden; large public park that stretches along river; Seehaus may be city’s prettiest beer garden.
Friedhof am Perlacher Forst Cemetery – 24 Stadelheimer Strasse; 011-49-089-767-7359; muenchen.de/sehenswuerdigkeiten/orte/120252.html; famous graves include those of White Rose movement members; White Rose movement largely concentrated at University of Munich; members wrote extensively about Nazi regime abuses & published leaflets; 3 most prominent founding members, and 1st to be executed, were Hans Scholl, his sister, Sophie Scholl, and their friend, Christoph Probst, all buried here; another notable landmark is mass grave of 4,092 Nazi regime victims.
Glockenbachviertel – District 11 (from northeast of Fraunhofer Road, along Isar River (south), to Braunauer railway bridge and warehouse road (southwest)); muenchen.de/int/en/shopping/major-shopping-areas/glockenbach.html; neighborhood filled with cafes and shops.
Glockenbachwerkstatt – 7 Blumenstrasse; 011-49-089-26883; glockenbachwerkstatt.de; community center by day, live music by night; cafe on site.
Haus der Kunst – 1 Prinzregentenstrasse (Lehel, on Englischer Garten); 011-49-089-2112-7113; hausderkunst.de; contemporary art museum in Nazi-era building.
Lenbachhaus – 33 Luisenstrasse; 011-49-089-2333-2020; lenbachhaus.de; recently reopened after extensive renovations; Expressionist art collection (Wassily Kandinsky, Franz Marc, Paul Klee & Blue Rider Group members (early 20th Century Munich artists).
MaximiliansForum – 38 Maximilianstrasse (Altstadt); 011-49-089-2332-4840; maximiliansforum.de; semi-subterranean art installation gallery.
Museum Brandhorst – 35a Theresienstrasse; 011-49-089-23805-2286; museum-brandhorst.de; 20th-21st Century art.
New Town Hall (Neus Rathaus)/Municipal Law Library – 8 Marienplatz; 011-49-089-23300; muenchen.de/rathaus/home.html; hosts city government, including city council & mayorial offices; in 1874 municipality left Old Town Hall for this new domicile; Gothic Revival architecture style; 400 rooms; 100 ms long main facade towards Marienplatz is richly decorated, showing Guelph Duke Henry Lion & almost entire Wittelsbach dynasty line (in Bavaria); ground floor is major official tourist information; Rathaus-Glockenspiel, performed by apparatus daily at 11 am, 12 pm & 5pm; municipal law library, soaring, neo-Gothic confection built at 19th Century close is worth trip to Munich in and of itself.
Perlacher Forst – 1 Scharfreiterstrasse; 011-49-089-690-3424; muenchen.de/sehenswuerdigkeiten/orte/120252.html; cemetery chapel.
Pinakothek der Moderne – 40 Barer Strasse (Altstadt); 011-49-089-2380-5360; pinakothek.de; modern art.
Schwanthalerhohe – Munich’s “West End.”

No comments:

Post a Comment