Tuesday, September 27, 2011

NAPA WINE REGION

(does not include Mendocino Coast; includes Angwin, Bodega Bay, Calistoga, Middletown, Napa, Pope Valley, Rutherford, St. Helena & Yountville)

ANGWIN
Shopping
Outpost Wines – 2075 Summit Lake Drive; 707-965-1718; outpostwines.com; unprepossessing outside masks among best California vintner’s vineyards.



BODEGA BAY
Services
Bodega Bay Cycles – 1580 Eastshore Road; 707-875-2255; bodegabaycycles.com.
Sights & Sites
Sonoma Coast State Beach – 3799 Westshore Road; 707-875-3483; parks.ca.gov/?page_id=451; Campbell Cove.



CALISTOGA
Hotels
Calistoga Ranch – 580 Lommel Road; 707-254-2800 or 800-942-4220; calistogaranch.com; cedar bungalows nestled in woods with outdoor decks and showers; 157, redwood-filled acres of hiking trails; note that bedrooms and living areas are separated by open-air deck, which is not pleasant when weather bad.
Solage Calistoga – 755 Silverado Trail; 707-226-0800 or 866-942-7442; solagecalistoga.com.
Restaurants
Solbar – 755 Silverado Trail (at Solage Calistoga Hotel); 707-226-0850; solbarnv.com; Michelin star; lovely outdoor patio; hearty cuisine and healthy, lighter dishes.
Vallarta Market – 1009 Foothill Boulevard; 707-942-8664; vallartasupermarket.com; counter at back serves great burritos, quesadillas, and tacos al pastor.
Wappo Bar & Bistro – 1226 Washington Street; 707-942-4712; wappobar.com; world-fusion food.
Services
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs – 1006 Washington Street; 707-942-6269; calistogaspa.com.
Sights & Sites
Castello di Amorosa – 4045 North St. Helena Highway; 707-967-6272; castellodiamorosa.com; tours by appointment; 121K square foot replica of 13th Century castle; theme-parkish but worth visit.
Indian Springs – 1712 Lincoln Avenue; 707-942-4913; indianspringscalistoga.com; old-fashioned, no-frills volcanic mud bath.



MIDDLETOWN
Sights & Sites
Langtry Farms – 22000 Butts Canyon Road; 707-987-2772; langtryfarms.com; winery; largest private landholder in Northern California, this is 22K square acre estate.



NAPA
Bakeries, Coffee, Ice Cream, Juice & Tea
Cake Plate – 1000 Main Street, Suite 100; 707-226-2300; cakeplateonline.com; clothing and cupcakes.
Model Bakery – 644 1st Street, Building B; 707-259-1128; themodelbakery.com; 100 year-old Napa institution; giant English muffins.
Ritual Coffee Roasters – 610 1st Street, Suite 12; 707-253-1190; ritualroasters.com.

Bars & Nightclubs
Back Room Wines – 1000 Main Street; 707-226-1378; backroomwines.com; great place to discover what “cool kids” are drinking; is it $15 or $50 contests are riots.
Bounty Hunter – 975 1st Street; 707-226-3976; bountyhunterwinebar.com; “blind tastings” contest in which, if you guess country and varietal, you get glass for penny.
Carpe Diem Wine Bar – 1001 2nd Street; 707-224-0800; carpediemwinebar.com; housed in former Alexandria Hotel.
Oenotri – 1425 1st Street; 707-252-1022; oenotri.com; best cocktails in town; try Tequila Blossom (tequila, Luxardo maraschino, and grapefruit juice).

Food Trucks
Crossroad Chicken – 707-280-3868; crossroadchix.com; try wood oven mozzarella chicken sandwich.
La Esperanza Taco Truck – Soscol Avenue (at Vallejo); 707-246-4908; classic taco truck.
Mark’s Spot Truck – 500 1st Street; 707-226-7768; markthespottruck.com; try Ooh Girl Fried Chicken slider.

Hotels
Andaz Napa – 1450 1st Street; 707-687-1234 or 866-644-2842; napa.andaz.hyatt.com; 141 rooms; subdued and comfortable.
1801 1st Luxury Inn – 1801 1st Street; 707-224-3739 or 800-518-0146; 1801first.com.
Milliken Creek Inn & Spa – 1815 Silverado Trail; 707-255-1197 or 800-835-6112; milikencreekinn.com; wooden shingled summer house on river for romantic getaways; no restaurant, gym, or pool.
Poetry Inn – 6380 Silverado Trail; 707-944-0646; poetryinn.com; stunning location; 5-room property.

Restaurants
Bistro Sabor – 1126 1st Street; 707-252-0555; bistrosabor.com; “haute Latin street food.”
Bounty Hunter Wine Bar & Smokin’ BBQ – 975 1st Street; 707-226-3976; bountyhunterwine.com.
Gott’s Roadside Burgers – 644 1st Street; 707-224-6900; gotts.com; 21st Century version 1950s burger joint; self-serve; try ahi poke tacos; wine and traditional diner standards, too; relatively pricey.
Hog Island Oyster Bar – 610 1st Street; 707-251-8113; hogislandoysters.com/bars/napa; oyster bar.
Kitchen Door – Oxbow Market, 610 1st Street; 707-226-1560; kitchendoornapa.com; homey, simple food.
Morimoto Napa – 610 Main Street; 707-252-1600; morimotonapa.com; contemporary sushi restaurant; large windows and water views (over river); try kakuni (pork-belly cooked for 10 hours and served over rice congee).
Norman Rose Tavern – 1401 1st Street; 707-258-1516; normanrosenapa.com; gastropub; try buttermilk fried chicken sandwiches, mac & cheese, and/or lamb burgers.
Oenotri – 1425 1st Street; 707-252-1022; oenotri.com; Italian food.
Rotisserie & Wine – 720 Main Street; 707-254-8500; rotisserieandwine.com; grilled meats.
Tannya’s Taqueria – 1601 Jefferson Street; 707-224-9000; walk-up window; try tacos al pastor.
Ubuntu Restaurant & Yoga Studio – 1140 Main Street; 707-251-5656; ubuntunapa.com; vegetarian food; try “cheesecake in jar.”

Shopping
Cake Plate – 1000 Main Street, Suite 100; 707-226-2300; cakeplateonline.com; clothing and cupcakes.
Fatted Calf – 644C 1st Street; 707-256-3684; fattedcalf.com; dried meats, as well as confits; good for outfitting picnics.
Graham’s Take-Away Foods – 101 South Coombs; 707-226-6529; cateringnapavalley.com; casual, locally prepared comfort food.
Oxbow Public Market – 610 and 644 1st Street; 707-226-6529; oxbowpublicmarket.com; covered marketplace with specialty food stalls, such as Kara’s Cupcakes and/or 3 Twins (ice cream).
Rancho Gordo New World Specialty Food – 1924 Yajome Street; 707-259-1232; ranchogordo.com; heirloom legumes and related produce.

Sights & Sites
Darioush – 4240 Silverado Trail; 707-257-2345; darioush.com; flashy, namesake winery designed to evoke Persepolis by way of Vegas; travertine-clad villa with 3-story, indoor waterfall, and 16 uplit granite columns capped with double bullheads.
Hess Art Museum – 4411 Redwood Road (at Hess Collection Winery); 707-255-1144; hesscollection.com; contemporary art by Andy Goldsworthy, Anselm Kiefer, Robert Motherwell, etc., in 3-story gallery.
Odette Estate – 5998 Silverado Trail; 707-224-7533; odetteestate.com; in summer, has “Secret Cinema drive-in-movie-nights”; tickets include dinner & tasting flight, with food truck on-site.
River-to-Ridge Trail – 2295 Streblow Drive (Kennedy Memorial Park, trailhead); 707-257-9529 (Kennedy Memorial Park information); ridgetrail.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=146&Itemid=146; 2.5 miles, one way; neighborhood bike, horseback ride, or walk from Napa River banks to Ridge Trail route in Skyline Wilderness Park hills.
Di Rosa Estate – 5200 Sonoma Highway; 707-226-5991; dirosaart.org; former winery, now museum to display art collection; tremendous grounds; arrange private tour for full effect.
Robert Sinskey Vineyards – 6320 Silverado Trail; 707-944-9090; robertsinskey.com; “flight attendants” help visitors pair estate’s food-friendly wines with almonds, bread, etc.; $50 farm-to-table tour lets guests pick fruits and vegetables from organic gardens.
Uptown Theater – 1350 3rd Street; 707-259-0123; uptowntheaternapa.com; Art Deco; recently renovated; live performances.



POPE VALLEY
Hotels
Aetna Springs – 1600 Aetna Springs Road; 707-965-2115; aetnasprings.com; under renovation.



RUTHERFORD
Hotels
Auberge du Soleil – 180 Rutherford Hill Road; 707-963-1211 or 800-348-5406; aubergedusoleil.com; 3-acre sculpture garden; not family friendly; beautiful.
Shopping
Sip Shoppe – 1271 Manley Lane; 707-967-3500; swansonvineyards.com; secreted down rural road in faux circus tent; tastings from Swanson Vineyards.
Sights & Sites
Hall Rutherford – 56 Auberge Road; 707-967-0700; hallwines.com; paintings and sculptures throughout vineyard grounds and wine caves.
Quintessa – 1601 Silverado Trail; 707-967-1601; quintessa.com; 1 of most scenic regional properties.



ST. HELENA
Bakeries, Coffee, Ice Cream, Juice & Tea
Velo Vino – 709 Main Street; 707-968-0625; velovinonapavalley.com; hybrid coffee house, wine bar, and bike shop that arranges rentals.

Bars & Nightclubs
Bar Terra – 1345 Railroad Avenue; 707-963-8931; terrarestaurant.com.
Velo Vino – 709 Main Street; 707-968-0625; velovinonapavalley.com; hybrid coffee house, wine bar, and bike shop that arranges rentals.

Hotels
Harvest Inn – 1 Main Street; 707-963-9463 or 800-950-8466; harvestinn.com.
Inn at Southbridge – 1020 Main Street; 707-967-9400 or 800-520-6800; innatsouthbridge.com.
Meadowood Napa Valley – 900 Meadowood Lane; 707-963-3646 or 800-458-8080; meadowood.com; New England-looking, country club-ish, on 250 acres; 3 Michelin stars.

Restaurants
Farmstead – 738 Main Street; 707-963-9181; longmeadowranch.com/Farmstead-Restaurant; showcases seasonal, ingredient driven American farmhouse cooking; chef Seamus Feeley creates authentic farm-to-table menu; family-style and a la carte items; menu foraged entirely from local sources and feature Long Meadow Ranch’s all natural grass-fed beef, organic and sustainably produced eggs, fruits, vegetables, extra virgin olive oil, and honey; also local artisan producers represented.
French Blue – 1429 Main Street; 707-968-9200; frenchbluenapa.com; continental comfort food.
Gott’s Roadside Burgers – 933 Main Street; 707-963-3486; gottsroadside.com; 21st Century version 1950s burger joint; self-serve; try ahi poke tacos; wine and traditional diner standards, too; relatively pricey.
Martini House – 1245 Spring Street; 707-963-2233; martinihouse.com; try almond wood-grilled American Kobe beef burger.
Restaurant at Meadowood – 900 Meadowood Lane; 707-967-1205; meadowood.com; elegant, simple, sophisticated restaurant; highly regarded.
Roux – 1234 Main Street; 707-963-5330; chefvincent.com; local ingredient-based cooking.
Terra Restaurant – 1345 Railroad Avenue; 707-963-8931; terrarestaurant.com; insiders’ favorite (winemakers, etc.); in old, fieldstone building on back street; cool and elegant; French and Italian food.

Services
Culinary Institute of America – 2555 Main Street (in 1888 Greystone Cellars building); 707-967-2320; ciachef.edu/california; cooking classes and tours.
Velo Vino – 709 Main Street; 707-968-0625; velovinonapavalley.com; hybrid coffee house, wine bar, and bike shop that arranges rentals.

Shopping
Flats – 1219-B Main Street; 707-967-0480; Jan Niemi’s ballet flats are handmade in Tuscany and come in vibrant colors.
Jan de Luz – 1219 Main Street; 707-963-1550; jandeluz.com; French antiques, soaps, linens, etc.
Marketplace at Greystone – 2555 Main Street; 707-967-1010; ciachef.edu/california; jaw-dropping array of books, cookware, and hard-to-find ingredients.
Martin Showroom – 1350 Main Street; 707-967-8787; martinshowroom.com; furniture and sculpture.
Napa Valley Olive Oil Mfg. Co. – 835 Charter Oak Avenue; 707-863-4173; unassuming barn famous for EVOO, bottled on premises each morning.
St. Helena Olive Oil Co. – 1351 Main Street; 707-968-9260 or 800-939-9880; sholiveoil.com; housed in former Bank of Italy building; extra-virgin olive oils from 7 Napa vineyards.
Sunshine Foods – 1115 Main Street; 707-963-7070; sunshinefoodsmarket.com.
Woodhouse Chocolate – 1367 Main Street; 707-963-8413; woodhousechocolate.com; chocolates and truffles.



YOUNTVILLE
Bars & Nightclubs
Redd – 6480 Washington Street; 707-944-2222; reddnapavalley.com; try Samurai (green-tea vodka, yuzu, blackberry, and ginger beer.
Redd Wood – 6755 Washington Street; 707-299-5030; redd-wood.com; casual and popular; pizza.

Hotels
Bardessono – 6526 Yount Street; 707-204-6000 or 877-932-5333; bardessono.com; weathered steel, polished concrete, reclaimed wood; in-room spa treatments; for eco-minded sybarites.
Hotel Luca – 6774 Washington Street; 707-944-8080; hotellucanapa.com; fantasy version of Italian courtyard house; noisy courtyard dining is in rooms’ earshot.
Vintage Inn – 6541 Washington Street; 707-944-1112 or 800-724-8354; vintageinn.com.

Restaurants
Ad Hoc – 6476 Washington Street; 707-944-2487; adhocrestaurant.com; casual joint with perfect fried chicken every other Monday; boxed lunches available, too.
Bistro Jeanty – 6510 Washington Street; 707-944-0103; bistrojeanty.com; fine French bistro.
Bottega – 6525 Washington Street; 707-945-1050; botteganapavalley.com; Italian.
Bouchon – 6534 Washington Street; 707-944-8037; bouchonbistro.com; Michelin-starred; festive, closely packed tables and patio overlooking main drag; roasted lamb.
Etoile – 1 California Drive (at Domaine Chandon); 707-204-7529 or 888-242-6366; chandon.com; Michelin-starred.
French Laundry – 6640 Washington Street; 707-944-2390; frenchlaundry.com; 3 Michelin stars; call 2 months to calendar day for reservations.
Redd – 6480 Washington Street; 707-944-222; reddnapavalley.com; European.

No comments:

Post a Comment